How to Delete a Facebook Page

While your Facebook profile connects you to family and friends, a Facebook profile serves a different purpose. Facebook pages are established for companies or businesses to engage with consumers, promote their goods and services, and optimize their online presence. It is not a personal account but part of a bigger marketing plan.

Therefore, the decision to delete a Facebook page is not one to be made lightly. After all, a page represents your business, and it takes time and effort to build up a following. However, there are times when deleting a page is the best course of action – for example, if you’re no longer using the page, if it’s full of spam, or if you’re getting too many negative comments.

This article demonstrates how to delete Facebook pages via mobile app, website, and business manager. It will also give you alternatives to deleting your Facebook page. So if you’ve decided that deleting your Facebook page is the right thing to do, here’s how to do it:

How to delete page in Facebook mobile app

  1. Open the Facebook app on your mobile device (iOS or Android) and log in.
  2. Tap the three lines (hamburger menu) at the top right corner of the screen.
  3. Tap “Pages”.
  4. Find the page you want to delete under the “Pages You Manage” section and tap it.
  5. Tap the Settings icon (gear-shaped) in the top right corner of the screen.
  6. Go to the top of the ‘Settings page” and click “General”.
  7. Scroll down to the “Remove Page” option.
  8. Tap Delete {Page Name}.
  9. Tap “Delete Page” on the pop-up window to confirm.
  10. The next screen notifies you the page has “entered deletion mode.” It also notifies you that you can cancel the deletion process within 14 days. Select “OK.”
  11. If you want to reactivate the page within 14 days, select the “General” option from the “Settings” menu. Then scroll down to a banner informing you that your page is about to be deleted. Cancel the deletion by tapping the “Cancel Deletion” and clicking “Confirm” on the next screen.
See also  Best Health Insurance Companies In Kenya 2022
How to delete page in Facebook mobile app
How to delete a page on Facebook Website

How to delete a page on Facebook Website

  1. Log into your account using the Facebook website.
  2. In the left-hand sidebar menu, click Pages from the Facebook homepage.
  3. Select the page you intend to delete under the “Pages you manage” section. If a pop-up appears informing you to link your page to WhatsApp, just close it.
  4. From the left-hand side, scroll down the menu and click Settings at the bottom of the list.
  5. From the Settings, go to the General section and select “Remove Page” from the bottom of the page.
  6. Tap Delete {Page Name}. Tap “Delete Page” on the pop-up window to confirm.
  7. The next screen notifies you the page has “entered deletion mode.” It also notifies you that you can cancel the deletion process within 14 days. Select “OK.”
  8. To reactivate the page after deletion, follow the last step on “how to delete page in Facebook mobile app.”

How to delete business page on Facebook from Business Manager

The following steps will demonstrate how to delete a Facebook Business page using Business Manager:

  1. Log into your account from the Facebook Business Manager site.
  2. On the left-hand menu, select Settings at the bottom of the list.
  3. Select More business settings from the Settings page.
  4. Click Pages under Accounts to open the Pages screen.
  5. Select the Page you intend to delete. In the top-right corner, click “Remove.”
  6. A pop-up window notifies you that you can cancel the deletion process within a 14 days window. To continue with the deletion process, tap “Delete Page.”
  7. After 14 days, you’ll be prompted to confirm that you’d want to delete your Facebook page. You may return to Page Options > Delete Page and choose “Confirm” to prevent your page from being deleted during this time.
See also  11 Essential Linkedin Hacks to Grow Your Business: Linkedin Tips for Business Owners and Entrepreneurs

Alternatives to deleting your Facebook page

You don’t always have to delete your Business Facebook page when you’re unsure of the choice. One alternative is unpublishing it to make it temporarily invisible to other users. This allows you to go back to it when its need arises again. Another option is to merge it with another page. With this option, you get rid of the old business page and transfer all the page likes to the new page.

Unpublishing a business page:

Reasons for publishing a page may include:

  • To update an old Facebook page.
  • You may want to make your page invisible to give you time to finish working on it before it’s available to the public.
  • The goal of the page may seem obsolete to you or your followers.
  • You’re unsure of the decision to delete your business page.

To unpublished a Facebook page, do the following:

  1. On the left-side menu, select Pages from your News Feeds.
  2. Select the page you intend to unpublish. Then select “Page Settings.”
  3. Scroll down to “General.” Next, tap “Page Visibility” from the bottom of the list.
  4. Choose “Unpublish.”
  5. Tap “Save Changes.”
  6. Give the reason for publishing your page and click Next.
  7. Click “Unpublish.”
  8. Publish the page when you’re ready to go public again by following the same process. However, select “Page published” on the fourth step.

How to Merge Facebook Pages:

In order to merge your Facebook Pages, you have to meet the following requirements:

  • You have to be the admin of both pages.
  • The pages must be on the same topic.
  • The pages must share the same name or represent the same business.
  • The pages must share a similar physical location.

To merge two Facebook pages, do the following:

  1. Log into your Facebook account from the app or website.
  2. Next, click on the three horizontal lines (hamburger menu).
  3. Select Pages.
  4. Select the pages your want to merge from under the “Pages you Manage.”
  5. Tap Setting, the gear-shaped icon.
  6. Select “General.” Tap on the “Merge Pages” option.
  7. Type your password and click confirm.
See also  CHASE BANK’S FALL FROM GRACE: HOW TOP MANAGER STOLE MILLIONS

Before you delete your Facebook page:

  • To delete a business Facebook page, you have to be its admin.
  • You can unpublish your Facebook page if you’re unsure about deleting it. You won’t lose anything by doing this. When you want to publish it again, it will be available.
  • After you delete a Facebook page, it remains visible for 14 days and may be reactivated. It also remains visible within that timeframe.
  • You must unpublish your Facebook page if you want it to be inaccessible to others.

Conclusion

There are several reasons why you might want to delete your business Facebook page. Maybe the goal of the page has become obsolete, or you’re unsure of the decision to delete it. You may also want to unpublish it to make it temporarily invisible to other users while you work on it some more. Whatever your reasons, you can follow the steps above to delete your business Facebook page.

We hope this guide was helpful in explaining how to delete a business Facebook page. If you have any questions, feel free to leave them in the comments below.

close

Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, once a week.

We don’t spam!